On Finally Starting

Blogging has been the easiest way for me to put words out there, sharing it to the world in an instant. I started blogging a few years ago, an online diary dedicated to putting my words out there. The ideas were all-in-your face, so to speak- they never properly converged. I was seventeen and at that age, the blogosphere community is subtly forgiving when you don’t start well but start young, I have come to notice but then, I became disinterested with just stories, I became tired of formulations that were not always sincere. I guess it is so because I hadn’t learnt the right lessons needed to create fiction from life, I cannot really tell. So, I spent a couple of months, just chilling, growing into myself- my humanity, my femaleness and voice, one that was more familiar- like an incubation process to help me start again.

Ije 2.jpg
It is never easy starting, especially, starting again

 

Honestly, it has never been about starting because, there is WordPress which makes these things easy, rather, about starting well, starting right. And, the fear of these two things- doing what I love the right way has pushed me into the class of passivity, of actually doing nothing at all.

I finally decided to blog not only about stories in my childish desperation to reinvent myself into Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie but about what I know about quite well, something I am passionate about too- life lessons.

Since August 2015, I started a journey to live intentionally- making decisions that are all together part of the larger picture every day. Decisions that can serve as a means of tutoring others too, building a collective growth structure in the process.

Now, I am unsure about many things that this renaissance holds for me and my partner. But, I am tired of living in the shadows of what-ifs, I am finally starting something I know would improve not only my craft but my life and potentially, do same for some tens or perhaps, hundreds.

Yes, I am blogging again and you are welcome to this journey of life lessons- lessons from life as we see it. These will not always be right or suitable to every situation but they, each of them, would offer a perspective that would give us an alternative to our subjective views (the ones that are embedded in our human nature). Isn’t that what life is about, really? Building objectivity in ourselves and our relationships.

You are welcome to Ije-Ebi, a good journey- a journey that starts with learning.

Idara,

Part of a whole.

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Zeus says:

    Felicitations. You’re back blogging.

    Like

    1. ijeebi says:

      Yes, dear. Thanks.

      Like

  2. Abraham Abah says:

    Lovely…. Welcome… Let the journey begin

    Like

    1. ijeebi says:

      Thank you, Abraham

      Like

  3. Ch_dum-E says:

    Nice piece. You’re doing good. Enjoy the journey ahead.

    Like

  4. Favour Obiomah says:

    Yay finally! I’m soooo proud of you honey. More grace in all your endeavours👍

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ijeebi says:

      Thank you, Favour. Amen

      Like

Leave a comment